2010-2011 Women's Team

2010-2011 Women's Team

Kick the door in, guns blazing.

Head coach Ryan Birge's battle cry for the 2010-11 Fairfield Women's Rugby team captures perfectly the energy, tenacity and sprit of the squad. Coming off an undefeated season in 2009, the Lady Ruggers had high expectations for the 2010 regular season. They faced formidable competition within the New York Met Union Division III, matching up against teams like Fordham, Columbia, Hofstra, and Molloy.

The Lady Ruggers had their eyes set on a Met Union Division title. With skill and experience up and down their lineup they met each opponent with confidence and a clear focus on a title. They stormed through the regular season with a perfect 6-0 record, earning a spot in the Met Union Championships as the number one seed. In the semi-final match, Fairfield defeated Columbia 29-7 to advance to the Championship round. Before a large, enthusiastic crowd at Grauert Field, the Lady Ruggers defeated the long-time Stag rival Sacred Heart 5-0 in overtime, earning the Metropolitan New York Division III title. This win qualified the Lady Ruggers for the Division III USA Rugby National Championship tournament for the first time in program history. After a hard-fought opening round match, the Lady Ruggers' season came to an end in the semi-final round in the nationals in Cherry Hill, New Jersey against a strong Bentley College side. That loss only fueled the team's passion for victory and for the recognition it felt was rightfully theirs. In the following season the team wrapped up the 2011 season ranked #6 nationally by the National Small College Rugby Organization.

The success of the 2010-2011 team would not have been possible without the dedication, determination and drive of the players and coaches, or without the inspiration from the women of 1994. That inspiration, along with Ryan Birge's coaching and leadership, the help from assistant coach Steve Jones and the passion of each player on the squad marked the 2010-2011 women's team as one of the best teams, men or women, in Fairfield Rugby history.

Players included Carrie Franco, Eileen Delaney (President), Emily Barrett (Capt.), Katie Bimson, Sam Bremer, Brittany Cozza, Erin Eife, Kayla Flaherty, Cara Galterio, Cori Gautieri, Alice Guglielmoni (Capt.), Emmy Houghton, Sam Malone, Rachel Purri, Molly Yergalonis, Fiona Barbour, Kristen Bona, Elizabeth Cortez, Carolyn Donat, Michela Flanigan, Kilee Bayne, Kaitlyn Butler, Amanda Carchietta, Morgan Carey, Callan Danielson, Maggie DeMoura, Carolyn Hanifin, Alexandra Havranek, Ellen Hayes, Kathleen O'Neill, Becca Ponessa.

Return to Honorees listing page